Bonaire Beauty

Standard

Image

It’s been far to long since I have posted last. That’s far to many memories and days that are lost in the sands of time. It is my promise to myself that I will strive to update much more often. I also eh hem… forgot about this until a wonderful person gave me a friendly nudge in the right direction.

So here I am. In April I decided on a whim to visit an old high school friend who lives in the beautiful island of Bonaire. It is truly a slice of heaven. My temperature from island fever remains to rise as I returned to the homeland. After living in Fiji for 7 months, visiting the Bahamas, and then experiencing true Bonairian life I realized a piece of my heart lies in the islands. Now, also in Bonaire. I experienced scuba diving for the first time and felt like I had been missing out on such a beautiful part of life. It was one of those experiences of complete serenity. Seriously, I can’t even find the right words in the English dictionary to describe what scuba diving was like. I was apart of the underwater world and there is nothing like it I have ever even come close to experiencing. I was able to tour the island. I was able to each day go out on a massive sailboat and snorkel for hours on end seeing sea turtles left and right (which has been a dream of mine.)ย I laid out in the sun for way to many hours and just breathe fresh air. I was able to most importantly…spend time with a long lost friend who I dearly cherish.

Image

I decided to take this trip because I thought I deserved it. After, I got back I was reminded that I deserve NOTHING in this life. Selfishness. It’s an interesting topic. I think humans are all to selfish all to often. More to come on this later..

The Bonaire trip though, couldn’t have come at a more important, and vital time. I am now head on into the application process for “real” teaching jobs. I have had interviews and just received a call back for a second interview. It is for a kindergarten position…and while I couldn’t be more excited I think I would have taken all of these job opportunities for granted if I wouldn’t have taken this trip. I came to understand how precious life is, how much I am in love with the man I am marrying, and that I deserve nothing.

I decided on this trip that although my heart and some of my passion is in traveling I now know that life wouldn’t be life without my Tom in it. I don’t want to leave him to travel the world and I don’t want to live life without him. That goes to say that I will continue to travel in the summers and I will continue to hope that we may go to South Korea to teach or join the peace corp. BUT right here…right now… this second….life is pretty amazing. Even from this itty bitty-wisconsinite corner of my world.

Image

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

Leave a Reply

