Why not you? Why not now?

Standard

I think all to often we are scared. Comfortable. Safe…

There are all kinds of people in this world. That is what makes it beautiful. Variety. I mean really how boring would it be if we were all the same? I have to say though that I feel adventure has been calling my soul again lately (when does it not?) I have started to realize how easy it becomes to get “bound to the wheel.” What I mean by this is our vision of what society wants for us. We live in a beautiful, but sometimes twisted world. American people can all to often be self seeking, self motivated, and self centered. No person is to blame when corporate America wants you to climb the ladder of success only to find you are still climbing exactly where you started years ago. Americans can live years without knowing their neighbors. In Fiji this would almost be considered a crime. I think about how how short our time is here on earth and I can’t help, but think this, my friends, is not how life should be lived.

We are given 24 hours a day. 24 beautiful hours to LIVE. Not live for the weekend, but to LIVE. Live for the moment and LIVE for the day.

We are given a mere few years (or maybe many years) if we are lucky. To experience life. Help others. Make a day, make a smile, make a friend. Not make a million. We can’t take it with us when we go. You can rest assured at the end of your life you won’t look back and wish you would have worked another day in your life.

So maybe your adventure is a new job. Maybe your adventure will take you a few miles away or perhaps thousands of miles away. Maybe your adventure will be skydiving, camping, traveling, organizing. Whatever it may be. Do it for others. Do it for you. Do it because our world needs a few more adventures and a few less “comfort zoners.” I know God never intended for the sorrow that life may sometime bring. God did however intend for us to love, love, love and to give, give, give… I plan on fully living a life for others and I challenge you to strive to do the same.

This world is far to big and this life far to short to live walking the road that is traveled. I dare you to pick the road less traveled. So I ask you my friend. Why not YOU? Why not NOW?

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

Leave a Reply

