Learning to be the light.

Standard

I have often been asked why I blog. What is my goal? Do I think that I will get famous from this? (Yes, I have been asked these exact questions!!)

Well let me try to explain:

Awhile back I received a very encouraging message from a friend who told me that my writing had in some way impacted her…enough to send me a personal message. Even though it was a short message…enough was said for me to realize that our actions impact far beyond just ourselves. That folks is the very reason that I blog. I feel that if I can share pieces of my heart, who I am, and let people into my life for even just a fleeting moment, and if some how, in some way, I can help one person even just for a second via my blog… it means the world to me.  Really, it does. Blogging is a way for me to share who I am, and sometimes that isn’t always easy. As a human we each have doubts and insecurities and wonder what people will think of us if we really share who we are. I am here to tell you I am not perfect, I make mistakes all the time, but I am real, and this is me, and however you ended up on this page I hope some how you understand that our paths crossed for a reason.

January 1st 2013 brought a new year. I couldn’t help, but hear about all of the new years resolutions. In a world so consumed with media and appearance   it is so easy to forget what the new year should mean. Well, what should it be about? Today in church our pastor (pastor Hunter—he married us) delivered a really powerful message to me. It hit home. He spoke about how we should be a light for Christ. “No one lights a lamp and hides it in a jar or puts it under a bed, Instead he puts it on a stand, so that those who come in can see the light… “(Luke 8 Verse 16) So often we are told that religion is private. Our pastor reminded us today that Faith is personal, but never private. We should live our lives so that at work, and with every relationship we have people stop and ask “what makes you different?” and I should be able to confidently simply say: because my identity is in Christ. I will be the first to admit that as a young adult that can be pretty scary. What if they think I am a freak? What if they feel awkward? What if they hate what I have to say?

Today it was confirmed that my word for 2013 is going to be: Listen. Luke chapter 8 goes on in verse 18 to say” Therefore consider carefully how you listen. Whoever has will be given more; whoever does not have, even what he thinks he has will be taken from him” So what is going to help me listen more closely? Our pastor made a really great point today: my relationship with God is either engaged and moving forward …or not. There is no in-the-middle. There is no” half” being a christian around my God loving friends, and then being a different person around those who I am unsure of believing in God.

Standing up for what you believe in can sometimes be scary.What if they think I am a freak? What if they feel awkward? What if they hate what I have to say? …but what if I make a difference? What if I stir up something bigger inside of them that has been there all along. What if I can help them?

I am willing to take that risk.

Are you?

partor hunter and karen

Here I am with some incredible human beings. My husband- who teaches me to listen more and speak less. Pastor Hunter and his wife Karen who are an inspiration of love and kindness. Humble, generous, and loving are words that come to mind when I think of them. Their identity is in Christ and it’s amazing how God uses them to help others.

Learning to be the Light

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

Leave a Reply

