Little things and love

Standard

I have a bucket list prepared for the next year that I want to start in April.

The more I thought about it though…the more I realized before I start working on that hefty list there are a few things I want to change first. I mentioned before I am being more “intentional.” And I am… slowly…but as my husband would say describing me I am an “all or nothing girl” which (let me digress briefly here) has its upsides. When I am happy… I am the most easily excitable, enthusiastic, giddy person. When I am sad I feel really, really sad. Although I do enjoy these qualities about myself sometimes I think that my life heart rate monitor would look like something similar to the Andes Mountain range. I’d like to think the average human’s life heart rate monitor screen looks like something more of a calm ocean…on a steady beat. Nope, not this girl. I come at life and then sometimes it comes back at me and slaps me in the face. I will dedicate and give you ALL of my passion, enthusiasm, and put my heart and soul into whatever it is I am pursuing or passionate about. There is no half effort with this personality. I like to “get shit done”, and promptly if possible. Anyways, I digress to note that my “all or nothing” quality does present its challenges. People easily disappoint me, because I have exceptionally high expectations of others when it comes to relationships, and those I love. As a result of my personality I admittedly am pretty darn opinionated, and quick to judge as there is no gray area in my mind: it is black or it is white. Patience is something I remind myself every single day to practice.

One of my professors in college once told me “Elicia, your biggest flaw is that you are too hard on yourself… So, you didn’t get an A, so what. It’s over. Let it go” I never forgot what he wrote on my speech outline. I later met with him to discuss how his honesty had impacted me. Trust me there were plenty of grades that weren’t A’s in college, and I learned quickly I would rather be a happy, involved, multi-tasking, volunteering college student than a straight A student. Ok ,back to this whole being intentional thing. I have to learn that it takes time. The best of changes take time. That is a struggle for me because I want it..and I want it NOW!

So, some things I am working on right now that take time.

Eating intentionally– meaning no strict rules on diet. Just being aware. Educated. Informed. I find the more I eat of fresh foods like fruit and veggies. The less I crave of snacks like pretzels, oreos, chips, and other processed crap.  I find fresh food and anything NOT processed gives me good energy as well as making me feel much more alert throughout my day.

Running again- It has been a long time since I have truly loved running. I don’t do it to lose weight or keep weight off. I do it for many reasons, but some being that I want a healthy heart and healthy organs. I want to push myself to the limits, but also if I feel like taking the time to stop and enjoy scenery- to do so.

Less Media– more of real people. How many times does your house fit in Kim Kardashian and Kayne West’s mansion? Lindsay Lohan back living in her teenage bedroom, report says. Eva Mendes departing on a flight at LAX…

Seriously? Give me something real FOX news. Give me people who have a passion and dedication to helping others. Like this:  http://www.kscholarshipfund.org/

Or this: http://dovemissions.org

Or this: http://www.raccfund.org/RACC/Home.html

Give me love, and give me life, but Fox news I don’t give 2 craps about celebrities. So knock it off.

-Cheers, to being a better individual. I think that starts with love. Little things…and love.

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

One response »

Leave a Reply

