“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.” – Taking the plunge to move abroad!

Standard

232323232-fp53489-nu=3245-439-852-WSNRCG=3687855492325nu0mrj 232323232-fp53573-nu=3245-439-852-WSNRCG=3687868;36325nu0mrj

We have taken 10 massive boxes of stuff to goodwill. With plenty more to come.

We have sold almost all of our furniture. AND a car.

We are 28 days away from moving to South Korea to teach.

I am excited to get back to teaching. BUT do you know how liberating it feels to rid ourselves of material STUFF. Just STUFF taking up space. Really, I mean all I need is whatever I can fit in a suitcase. Or on my back, right? Seriously. I miss that and it doesn’t take long to stray from remembering to- be minimal.

Tom is excited to take a stab at teaching (he is a great teacher already!)

We are both excited for this adventure and the vagabond life style. Yup. I said it. Vagabond. While we will have jobs our “home” after getting married we decided was -each other. Where ever that is. After watching lots of documentaries and educating ourselves. Praying. AND of course having discussions on what we want from the time here on Earth that we have together. We will be packing up our suitcases to teach abroad. I am most excited to teach again…and thrilled to travel Korea along with Southeast Asia extensively…and YES, I have already created a bucket list and a list of places I want to travel to. Post to follow on that lata.

I know I will miss my family (especially my little sisters!!!), friends, our church, and the girls I have been lucky to be a nanny to the last 6 months…It is just an adventure we simply can’t pass up. I think I can speak for both of us when we say that we are accepting this adventure with open arms. We are as ready as we will ever be.Tom and I haven’t decided if we will do a blog together specifically for Korea, and our travels …or if we will have separate blogs for our time there. We will of course keep you updated! In the meantime  in the next few weeks I’ll keep you posted on here as we try to pack our house, say goodbyes without crying, and get on a plane to MOVE to Korea. As I repeat in my head over and over “This isn’t insane right?!?!This will be great.”… and I know it will. I just need to not think about how much I will miss everyone around the holidays… and how much I will want to just hug my sisters after a long hard day of teaching while they are thousands of miles away.

My fear of becoming “bound to the wheel” is finally being crushed. We couldn’t be more excited.

Just over a year ago I started this blog and I found it suiting to close with the same thing I closed with when I posted over a year ago.

God has us here for a distinct purpose and let me tell you I plan on living every single, crazy beautiful, totally twistable minute of this life. Buckle your seat belts. We are in for the ride of a lifetime. Smiles guaranteed.”

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

Leave a Reply

