Belleville, Wisconsin ——> Yeosu, South Korea. 6,580 miles

Standard

Last week, Tom and I received confirmation of our city and our teaching placements.

Here is where we will be living:Image

It is a city called Yeosu, South Korea. Yeosu has a population of about 300,000 people and consists of the Yeosu peninsula as well as 317 islands (many of which are uninhabited) ,but some that you can catch a ferry to and experience rural South Korea. It is located about midway along the southern coast of Korea. We are excited for fresh seafood, longer spring and autumn seasons then what we are used to, and mild winters. (MUCH more mild than these darn midwest winters!)…just to name a few!!

You can read more about Yeosu here – in an article I found from the New York Times that I really enjoyed reading!

Tom will be teaching middle schoolers. I will be teaching elementary students. Our schools are 700 meters away from each other. So we will be able to walk/bus/ or take the train together each morning to work!!!

One way tickets are purchased. Our journey will be (from what I have found) about 6,500 miles. We first plan to visit our friend Amy (who was in our wedding!) and is living in South Korea teaching until August before our 10 day orientation (and before we begin teaching!!) 3 weeks and 1 day until departure!!!

My bucket list for the next year:

Learn to eat and ONLY eat with chopsticks- okay fine. AND a spoon for soups.

Climb a mountain (lots of them)

Climb to base camp of Mount Everest with my husband!

Volunteer at an orphanage

Make friends who are locals

Get involved in the community

Immerse myself as fully as I can into the culture- detox and clense of all social media as much as possible (besides blogging when time allows)

Visit coffee shops when working on lesson planning

Travel to Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Nepal, Vietnam

Visit Jeju island in South Korea on a weekend

Try every new food at LEAST once and hopefully much more than just once

Laugh off awkward situations I am positive I will find myself in!

Keep a journal- not just a blog

Drink wine.

Learn how to use the bus system and use it efficiently!!!

Be confident in who I am as a teacher and the person I have become

Keep an open mind. At all times.

Research countries before I visit them to know what is appropriate and what is not before I get there.

Workout consistently- run in races if possible

Eliminate visiting “touristy” places as much as possible- take the road less traveled.

Be a traveler. Not a tourist.

Give credit to others where credit is due

Keep my faith strong- pray and be in the word as much as possible. Find an English speaking church if possible.

Become detached from any earthly thing (ok, besides my computer so I can stay in contact with family) and learn to give away or donate things I own.

Come home with less than what I came with. This means if I brought a lot of clothing- get rid of clothes I had to make room for gifts or things I have acquired.

Try as much as I can to use the Korean Language (even though I don’t know much!)

Breathe in then breathe out-  Remember teaching will have its toughest of days.

Don’t sweat the small stuff

Blog- as much as time allows, but never so much that I miss out on experiences.

Continue to be the best wife I possibly can to my husband!

Show others that I care.

Establish relationships that matter.

Don’t view Korea as just a “one year and done” opportunity- Take each day for what it is worth and know that this opportunity is a huge blessing and a dream.

Be a dedicated teacher.

Make lesson plans with purpose.

Remind myself I can do ANYTHING I put my mind to.

Take the time to stop and appreciate the Korean culture and the people.

Celebrate differences in culture.

Explore- and do it often

Visit Elephants in a sanctuary instead of riding them where I can rest assured that they are treated fairly. Be informed of what “riding elephants” entails. Read more about this here

Live…life. Every single day.

Trust God.

As always-Love all. No exceptions.

Why did it take us moving abroad to create this type of bucket list? IF you read this far I encourage you to create your own bucket list wherever you are. Your journey is an important one, and you don’t need to be moving abroad to- make each day count!

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

2 responses »

  1. I am so excited for your adventrue! When you decied to come visit Thailand, let me know! I will be here all next year! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Malaysia bound! | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

