즐거움

Standard
즐거움

I can’t believe it has already been a week since we left the states. Our journey to the south has continued to amaze, awe, and inspire both Tom and I.  I will start back at Wednesday April 10th when Tom and I took the bus from Seoul, South Korea to the small city of Jangheung…where our friend Amy has been living for 8 months. This is a long post, but it’s been 5 days of stories!!!!

Our Journey so far (in red):map sk

Gwanju is underlined in blue- where we head next for orientation, and Yeosu our home where we will be living!

Wednesday 10th– This day was much of a travel day. We were bummed we didn’t get to explore Seoul more, but feel confident we will make it back soon to explore. The buses here are similar to a coach buses back home. We made it to Amy’s city in 5 hours. By the time we arrived it was 8pm and we decided to grab some grub at a pork “bbq” with Amy’s friends Jetta’ and John. It was a restaurant that you have a small grill type thing in the middle of the table and you cook all the meat on it. All meals here are served family style…you all share soup and many small side dishes like kimchi and a whole lot of other things that I really don’t know what they are (seafood, veggies, etc). Each restaurant is a little different and the other night we ate hard boiled quail eggs as a small side dish. Similar to our eggs just a LOT smaller. I’ve noticed there is always a few sauces for dipping meat- which are usually really amazing!!! We went for ice cream (gelato) and coffee after dinner, and then called it a night.

Thursday April 11th:

Amy headed to school and Tom and I had a relaxing morning at Amy’s place. Walked down by river in her city called- Tamjin River. I found this from the official site of Korea about the city of Jangheug: “Often called the Home of Korean Flavors, because of its many creative, rich-tasting local dishes. Jangheung is famous for grass-fed juicy beef, raised on pasture. Also, not to be missed is namdo jeongsik – or a full-course meal accompanying steamed rice, kimchi and an overwhelming number of side dishes – made with Jangheung’s local produce.”  —which explains why we went for 2 “bbq” style meals where you “grill” your own food if you will and all of the side dishes! Which is very typical in Korea. 🙂 Pictures as we explore Jangheung:

015

014

011

027

018

020

016

So, we met Amy for lunch…then in the afternoon relaxed, played basketball when Amy was done with school, walked up a little hill to see her city, and finished the day with an amazing meal similar to Wednesday night except with the famous Jangheung beef instead of pork. (Really, amazing food) Walked into what looked similar to a butcher shop back home- pick out your meat you want and then go upstairs to “grill” it on your table!!!Some side dishes include yellow picked radish, and a leaf looking thing that I learned you.

1. Get meat off grill with chopsticks once it is done. 2. Dip in sauces 3. Grab a few side dishes. 4. Set of all of this on the leaf thing. 5. Roll up with your hands like a little mini burrito. 6. EAT!

din din thursday

Friday April 12th-

Went to Amy’s school in the morning (she teaches at a school in the country on Friday’s) We loved getting a taste of what life will be like teaching for Tom as Amy has middle school students!!Don’t ask me how this turned into an arm wrestling game…Oh, Korea.

011

007 - Copy

003

Friday afternoon Tom and I did an AWESOME hike near Amy’s city. We are finding that if you just start walking to the mountains you will usually find a path up! The hike was short and I don’t know the name of it, but we had a great time and I think it took like 2 or 3 hours total and was 518m  🙂

Just your typical  random workout equipment as we started the hike:

013

014

029

027

028

For dinner Amy, Tom, and I headed to a place for traditional Bibimbap and we got to sit on the floor 🙂 I loved it. Tom has some difficulties with the floor as his legs are SO big hehe. Food was good, and we all of us were exhausted!

Saturday April 13th-  Went to the local market in Jangheung. Similar to a farmers market back home. Complete with dancers/performers in the middle of the market. Oh, Korea!033

032

037

040

Next, we went to visit a Buddhist temple near Amy’s city. It is the biggest Budda statue in South Korea standing 36 meters high and costing 10 billion won to make. It was about 10 min from Jangheung, and was pretty neat to see.

052

056

054

055057058

Then, Tom and I hopped on a bus to Mokpo- to see our friends Alyssa and Pat. We met Alyssa in Wisconsin as well. There are so many Midwestern connections…even so far away from the states. Mokpo was amazing. To summarize: Mokpo is a city on the ocean surrounded by mountains (like the rest of Korea) that will be very similar to our new home of Yeosu. Watched a laser light show with music on the ocean…and we had a bbq style dinner! The highlight of this dinner was the amazing seafood! After dinner we went for a drink at a cool little bar, and on the way home stopped at a small arcade complete with batting cages and ping pong cages. I have started to realize that Korea is full of surprises 🙂

092

093

096

108

099

oops, Jessie, Pat, Paul, Jen, Alyssa.

Sunday April 14th-

Walked along the ocean with Alyssa and Pat…climbed a little hill filled with beautiful cherry blossoms, had an amazing dumpling/soup lunch (sitting on the floor!)

119118

126

129128127

130133132

137

WHEW!

Feeling so blessed. Feeling so happy.

Joy.(즐거움 )

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

2 responses »

  1. Drooling over your pictures…the food, the market, the hike, all of it!! And I love that you have so many connections and friends over there. Huge blessing!

Leave a Reply

