Home

Standard
Home

There is so much I want to tell you. Pictures don’t even do it justice. Today while on the way home from work… I thought WOW, so this is our life? To be honest it took almost a month of being here to finally feel real. This. is. our. life! We didn’t come to Korea, because we couldn’t find jobs at home. We choose to come here to experience a new adventure and I feel SO blessed beyond words to be here…in this moment, and sharing it with my husband. As I sit at a little coffee shop with the sound of water running and music in the background I sit here feeling like God has given me so much more than I ever deserved. I teach the greatest kids. I live in a beautiful city. I am happy. I am healthy, and God has us exactly where we should be.

Yeosu, is beautiful. The mountains are unbelievable and the ocean is breathtaking. It is a breath of fresh air. I want to tell you about orientation, and the temple we visited during our 10 day orientation. I want to tell you how so many “God moments” have happened since we have been here. I want to tell you how the kids I teach make my day every single day…but first. Let’s start with our city of Yeosu.

So, we have been “home” for a week. Life has seemed a blur the past week! From figuring out the city,  our new jobs, bus system, and where to shop and eat… Each day has sort of run into the next. In a good way of course 🙂 I finally feel like I am learning what is where, and how to take the bus home from work. We live in a fantastic location! It is known for all of it’s places to eat and go out for a drink. We met up with other foreigners one night, and our neighborhood seems to be the place everyone meets for dinner. Which is awesome for us because it is all within walking distance. Our schools are both down by the ocean. We take the bus together each morning. It is about 15 min by bus, but from our apartment to the ocean/school it is probably only 3 miles. The problem is we have to go around a massive mountain. I am not complaining though. That just means we have another mountain we get to hike!!!

This past weekend Tom and I spent the weekend exploring Yeosu. Taking the bus, and LOTS of walking around. It was gorgeous outside. The weather here has been consistent, and mostly in the low 60’s.  The weekend highlights were as follows: Meeting up with our Irish friends Roy and Ciara, exploring the MASSIVE fresh (and live) fish market, walking across the big Dolsan bridge to the cutest little coffee/tea shop on the top of this hill overlooking the city, and checking out the 2012 World Expo site down along the ocean.

This week brought teaching (mostly introducing ourselves to the kiddos) ,and getting to know our co teachers. I have two co teachers who speak excellent English! On Friday’s I go to a different school to teach kiddos. This past Wednesday, all English Teachers had the day off for Labor Day! Tom and I spent the day at my school for the kids’ sports day (like track and field day back home!!!) The kids were THRILLED to meet Tom. Seriously, everyone is obsessed with Tom. They adore him for how tall he is and I can’t tell you how many times a day men, women, and child alike yell “HANDSOME MAN!!!”  It makes me laugh, because he does not like the attention. After Sports day was over at 1:00 the entire staff of my school went out for “Teacher dinner” and invited Tom to come with us. We spent the next hour eating on the floor, and various teachers coming over to say the sweetest words to me about how thankful they are to have me here ,and pouring us a drink of beer and soju. I am SO thankful to work with such amazing, and kind co workers. Then all of the teachers went back to school to play volleyball (they take it very seriously!) Tom got roped into playing, and it was entirely too entertaining. I laughed the entire time as they tried to coach him (in Korean) ,and the men proceeded to grab his butt and slap him on the back. Most of the time I don’t know what is going on, and the best thing to do is smile, and nod. 🙂

This weekend we are having another married couple visit us in Yeosu who are from the states as well. There is a big festival going on in our city! It is called the Turtle Ship festival. There is a parade, and we are hoping to catch fireworks after dark. I will do my best to keep the blog updated. I miss writing, and I am trying to write everything down as I know this will all pass too quickly.

These pictures are all of our new home!

Walking across the Dolsan Bridge:

043

044

045

048

Checking out the map!

Checking out the map!

Massive Fish market

Massive Fish market

Strollin along the ocean

Strollin along the ocean

Love.

Love.

Happy as can be!

Happy as can be!

Walking along the ocean to the World Expo site...

Walking along the ocean to the World Expo site…

2012 World Expo site. It is ALL new buildings (feels like chicago!)

2012 World Expo site. It is ALL new buildings (feels like chicago!)

Checking out the digital aquarium at the Expo Site

Checking out the digital aquarium at the Expo Site

080

The big "o" it is where they have laser light shows in the summer!

The big “o” it is where they have laser light shows in the summer!

My school :)

My school 🙂

:) My kiddos at Sports Day!

🙂 My kiddos at Sports Day!

Tom with my kids

Tom with my kids

089

092

I love this picture

I love this picture

Baby girl watchin Sports Day!

Baby girl watchin Sports Day!

Cooling down with stretches

Cooling down with stretches

My gorgeous view from school...every single day.

My gorgeous view from school…every single day.

:)

🙂

I really hope to post pictures of our apartment soon, update about the temple we visited during orientation, and of course the festivities from this upcoming weekend of the Turtle Ship Festival.

Make today special- wherever you are!

All of my love from (Yeosu) Korea,

Elicia

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

3 responses »

  1. I don’t even know where to start!! Seriously, we are coming to visit. We just have to figure out the exact dates in 2014 but we are coming!

    That you got to experience field day – a huge tradition in Korea – is amazing and awesome. I would love for my kids to experience that.

    The fish market!! Wow.

    The ocean, the views, the color!! Wow!!

    And that you are just part of Korean life, absorbing all of the culture – (you know I’m going to say it) wow.

    So, so incredible and awesome.

    I’m glad you are enjoying it!!

Leave a Reply

