The Best of Yeosu

Standard

So, we have been in Korea almost 3 months.

These past three months have flown by SO fast! It seems like we have been in Korea forever as we feel really comfortable here, but at the same time these past 3 months have flashed before our eyes. We are still discovering bits of the city we now call home, but also doing more of what I call “regular life things” like shopping at our local market, working out more, unwinding at night with a documentary or a new show we are watching called Friday Night Lights. I thought it would be great to do a 3 month recap of our favorite places in Yeosu thus far. Ideally, I would love to make part 2,3, and 4 after 6, 9, and 12 months of living in Yeosu. We’ll see though 😉 No promises yet.

I’ll first start by saying that we LOVE hiking. I don’t talk much about it on my blog, because Tom is doing a great job documenting every single hike we do here.

Favorite Hike- Horangsan Mountain

img_0327

Favorite place to shop- (hands down) the open air markets! 

photo (34) photo (35)

Favorite After School Adventure- Beautiful Odongdo Island

photo (29)

Odongdo is a cute little island that you can walk out to from Yeosu!

Most relaxing thing to do in Yeosu Sunset Stroll and Turtle Park

sunset stroll with this guy ;)

sunset stroll with this guy 😉

Yeosu is lovely!

Yeosu is lovely!

Turtle Park is nestled in a neighborhood near our apartment called Yeocheon. Love watching people here!

Turtle Park is nestled in a neighborhood near our apartment called Yeocheon. Love watching people here!

Favorite beach- (by a landslide) Jangdeung beach

A gorgeous beach nestled in the country side has the best scenic views, and the most gorgeous beach. We took a city bus about 45 min to this beach!

A gorgeous beach nestled in the country side has the best scenic views, and the most gorgeous beach. We took a city bus about 45 min to this beach! I talked more about this beach here

Favorite Temple- Jinnamgwan Temple

photo (22)

At the entrance!

At the entrance! Start of Date night.

photo (33)

Stone man from 1592

View from the temple looking out!

View from the temple looking out!

Favorite Coffee Shop- IMI Coffee! 

Imi coffee also has live jazz music once a month. We caught free jazz music in June.

In Yeosudong (our neighborhood name) Imi coffee also has live jazz music once a month. We caught free jazz music in June.

One of our favorite places to eat (because this is too hard to choose) nicknamed ” Pork Palace”-

photo (38)

Located in our neighborhod of Yeosudong. When it wasn’t too hot they kept the door/windows open which was awesome. They also smoke the pork before we cook it on hot coals at our table. 😉

Favorite place for entertainment- Yeulmaru  ( after visiting the temple Tom and I continued date night here! Duo piano concert 5$ a piece 🙂 Cool concerts, and cool art on display.

Love the fountains!

Love the fountains! Gorgeous brand new facility just built a year ago.

photo (40)

My Favorite Candid Moments that I caught in a photo! (because these were too cute not to post)

Grandma dancin with the little boy :)

Grandma dancin with the little boy 🙂

My kids racing into school. Love my Friday's at the country school.

My kids racing into school. Love my Friday’s at the country school.

Hard to see ( I was far away and had to zoom in with my phone) but I love hand holding so I had to snap a pic!!!

Hard to see ( I was far away and had to zoom in with my phone) but I love hand holding so I had to snap a pic!!!

I know I have said this before, but I don’t think we could have picked a more perfect city to meet our interests. I think we are pretty spoiled with the mountains for hiking, and the beautiful beaches now that the weather feels like we live in a tropical rain forest. For any of you that know me I would also like to officially announce that I am FINALLY not cold. I can’t get enough of this heat. I have never felt humidity like this before, and although my hair is a crazy curly mess… I am loving the sunshine!

 

Do you have a favorite place you like to go back to time and time again? Or do you experiment with new places? I have a feeling our “favorite” places in Yeosu are ones we will visit time and time again.

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

4 responses »

  1. Great Post! If you haven’t checked out Hyangarim Temple on Dolsan it is a must see! Absolutely beautiful views and a really unique location for a temple. If you hop on the 111 bus it takes you there. Last stop. 🙂

  2. Pingback: What we now know about Korea that we didn’t know then (part 2) …. | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

  3. Pingback: Walking Tour of Kuala Lumpur- Malaysia’s Capital City! | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

