Suncheon Retreat Weekend

Standard

The weekend of July 13th Tom and I were invited by our good friends Cory and Michelle to go on a church retreat weekend in Suncheon. We had no idea what to expect, but it was a fabulous weekend! Suncheon is a city about 45 minutes by bus from Yeosu.

We pulled up to this awesome place surrounded by LOTS of nature and the mountains! There was even an outdoor pool which is pretty rare in Korea… the first we have seen since we have moved here in April. We spent time outside in the pool relaxing, and cooling off from the heat!

photo (63)

Outdoor pool!

Outdoor pool!

Followed by a delicious dinner of fresh chicken (and I mean fresh)

From pen to table. Literally!

From pen to table. Literally!

Cute tables on the little creek!

Cute tables on the little creek!

Dinner outside near the creek.

Dinner outside near the creek.

Dinner

Dinner

…and a great message from a member of their church on trusting God’s plan for us. “For I know the plans I have for you,โ€ declares the Lord, โ€œplans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

The morning was followed by Cory’s message on worrying. Focusing on Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

It was a wonderful weekend, and great reminder for me to refocus on God. Being in Korea has been a huge blessing for both Tom and I! We have an English speaking church service in Yeosu that we have attended twice, but have been traveling every weekend so it was really great to spend a weekend where we were reminded of God’s love for us, and being able to connect with other christians.

photo (61)

972031_617409031295_1444225540_n

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

Leave a Reply

