Malaysia bound!

Standard

So, the day is here!!!

Photo credit- Lonely Planet.

Photo credit- Lonely Planet.

The one where the backpacks are packed, and we are Malaysia BOUND. We will be gone for 10 days. If you missed the post on our Malaysia Plans go ahead and give that page a little click if you wanna know what we “plan” to be up to! You’ll see where I organized our “plans” into a nice little post… I say “plans” because I’ve learned our ideas/plans don’t always work out BUT that makes for some sweet travel stories.

In all honesty…we only have one place booked out of the many we will stay at in Malaysia (to sleep.) Why? WELL. This vacation kinda sprung up on us…and FAST! With wrapping up our first semester of teaching, teaching two weeks of English Summer Camp, a NEW car to travel Korea in, and the weekends we have spent at the beach/ visiting friends…we honestly haven’t booked places to stay, planned out the trip to a “T” and I honestly have no idea what food we will eat, where the best beaches are, or where we will sleep. Thanks to the iphones though…Tom discovered an app called- Hostel World where we can enter our location, and it brings up cheap places for us to stay in the area. Perfect, right? So here we go! Off to explore. It’s so fun to check things off on bucket list that I made back in March! There are quite a few I still need to tackle over the next few months, but we have winter break for that! ;)AND actually we have already started to plan winter vacation when we have a month off to travel in January. I can’t wait to tell you where we are headed!

First things first though.

What I do know…is that those trips (the ones where there is a rough sketch of ideas/things we want to see) are the BEST ones. I have no doubt there will not be a shortage of backpacker places for us to stay, people for us to meet, and things for us to do. Tom and I actually both prefer the road less traveled vs. the resort stays (and so does our wallet), the backpacker resorts, and also maybe even sleeping on the beach where we have done plenty of that here, here, and here! WHO KNOWS where this trip will take us, but the unknown is pretty darn exciting.

…and I sure can’t wait to discover this next adventure that is unfolding…

The blog will remain not-so-up-to date for 10+ days..where I will be hanging with the orangutans, climbing the tallest point between the Himalayas and New Guinea at 13,436 feet above sea level, and scuba diving the beautiful reefs of Malaysia, visiting night markets, maybe a river safari, and OF COURSE looking for adventure! Like I have said before…this life does NOT seem real. Still pinching myself that we are livin this dream.

Don’t worry though! (I knew you were worried) πŸ˜‰

I will be back SOON. With plenty of travel stories to knock your socks off!

Until then…

Stay cool blog readers.

Lots’o’love,

-elicia

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

One response »

  1. Have a wonderful time!! Looking forward to seeing Malaysia through your eyes – it’s a place I never even thought about visiting, so I know I will learn a lot. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

