Mt. Kinabalu Success.

Standard

We did it in a day. It was crazy, but it was one of the coolest things I have ever done in my life…hands DOWN!

I didn’t love it all. There were parts when I thought there might be tears. Or that the altitude had sucked all the air straight out of my lungs. Climbing over 13,000 feet is no joke people. It’s the real deal. It was the coolest journee I have ever embarked on in one day. With the coolest guy that I know…who wrote all about the journee of our one day climb to the summit of Mt. Kinabalu here… and how to crawl climb it in just one day here!

People thought we were crazy. I would probably have to agree. Not because we did it in one day, but because I thought it would be “easy.” Yeah…sure…we are young whipper snappers, and yeah, I felt “fit” before we decided to climb it. Let me tell you people…it was hard. It wasn’t as hard as when I cried my way through a painful (completely-un-trained-for) second time I ran a marathon ordeal…but it was tough. I live to see another day, and if I can do it anyone can do it! I was inspired by this cool blog we heard of from Alyssa, and it inspired me that we could try to do the climb in one day.

I wasn’t going to post anything on climbing the mountain since Tom does a great job documenting of all our hiking and trekking journees, but like I said… it was probably one of those things I will never do again because now I know how much it hurt type of things. BUT it also was a HUGE part of our journee in Malaysia, and it inspired us to climb more mountains. We have our eye on Mt. Fuji in Japan next. Is it weird we like painful climbing up mountains? Yes. It’s the journee that gets me every time. The journee of the day. The journee with my husband. The journee of climbing Mt. Kinabalu in one day.

Wait, what? We are climbing to the top of... that?!?!

Wait, what? We are climbing to the top of… that?!?!

Pure happiness.

Pure happiness.

Enjoying the descent down.

Enjoying the descent down.

so cold, but so happy!

so cold, but so happy!

 

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

5 responses »

    • Thank you Helen for your wonderful well wishes. God really has blessed us beyond our wildest dreams 🙂

      On the top if I had to take a guess I would say 40F with lots of wind!!! I also look forward to writing each one and sharing them. I try to do about 2-3 posts a week if I can fit it in!

      Take care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

