Walking Tour of Kuala Lumpur- Malaysia’s Capital City!

Standard

After so much time in the Malaysian jungle I wasn’t sure what I thought about heading to a big “city.” I’m typically not a fan of exploring big cities at all. If you have been following along you know that Yeosu (our Korean home base) contains 300,000 people which feels HUGE to me. The beach is 2 miles away, and there is a mountain in our backyard. Literally. That’s all I need to be one happy gal.

So, I was hesitant to spend time in Kuala Lumpur. Which in my mind you can’t compare AT ALL to East Malaysia (where we spent the majority of our trip.) We had our layover in Kuala Lumpur back to Korea so we decided (well Tom convinced me) that we should spend 2 nights, and 1 full day exploring the city. So we did. I live to tell you it was much more interesting than I had expected, but that I am glad we only stayed one day. We walked for 14 hours around the city (with stops to enjoy, relax, and eat) and I felt like we saw EVERYTHING I possibly wanted to see. From the Muslim Mosques, to the Indian temples, all of the cool architecture, the food, the mix of culture, the crazy demented city monkeys, all of the amazing markets (we went to three), to the gorgeous garden park. I am happy to say we DID it!

Tom and I both had an extremely hard time leaving Malaysia. We love living in Korea, but it was such an absolutely incredible trip that it was hard to say goodbye. Kuala Lumpur concluded our time in Malaysia, but I know we will be back. I loved the diversity of the people living in Malaysia: Chinese, Native Malaysians, and Indian. The diversity of people brought diversity of food which I hadn’t even mentioned yet. We ate real Italian food from an Italian expat living in Malaysia, Chinese food, Indian food, and everything in between. I was humbled by all of the travelers we met there and I am inspired to continue to discover more of this big beautiful world.

China Town Market

China Town Market

This guy ;)

This guy 😉

In the morning we headed to the famous Batu Caves. Caves made of limestone, a place of worship for hindu people, and home to one of the most popular Hindu shrines outside of India.

In the morning we headed to the famous Batu Caves. Caves made of limestone, a place of worship for Hindu’s, and home to one of the most popular Hindu shrines outside of India.

DSCN3364DSCN3365

The crazy demon monkeys around the Batu Caves. Stealing people's food and drinks. Not going to lie I was scared of them not like the monkeys we seen in the wild. The may look cute...don't let them fool you.

The crazy demon monkeys around the Batu Caves. Stealing people’s food and drinks. Not like the monkeys we seen in the wild. The may look cute…don’t let them fool you.

Sippin on some delicious and fresh coconut juice.

Sippin’ on some delicious fresh coconut juice.

DSCN3362DSCN3367

Heading up, up, up the stairs into the caves.

Heading up, up, up the stairs into the caves.

DSCN3379

They were waiting watching the humans until they found their victims.

They were waiting watching the humans until they found their victims.

Headed to explore the city!

Headed to explore the city!

Kuala Lumpur Garden Park

Kuala Lumpur Garden Park

Checkin out the sites at the National Monument.

Checkin out the sites at the National Monument.

DSCN3424DSCN3427

National Mosque

National Mosque

love this architecture.

love this architecture.

DSCN3448DSCN3443

Checking out Central Market.

Checking out Central Market.

Chinese for lunch! Porridge with chicken :)

Chinese for lunch! Porridge with chicken 🙂

DSCN3466DSCN3468

Night Market findings. New watch from a guy who uniquely made each one (besides the watch face hehe)

Night Market findings. New watch from a guy who uniquely made each one (besides the watch face hehe)

Petronas Towers at night!

Petronas Towers at night!

DSCN3492DSCN3493

So there ya have it. 3 blog posts in 3 days!!

I am so excited that I have successfully documented our entire trip to Malaysia all before second semester starts back up for teaching on Monday! First, we are saying goodbye to our good friend Alyssa as she has completed 2 years of teaching in Korea, and is embarking on many months of traveling. Sunday is our 1/2 marathon! We are so excited to do a race in KOREA.

I’ll be back next week with more stories on how we had an amazing trip on a budget, things we learned that we won’t travel East Malaysia without, and  our travel plans coming up in just 3 weeks!

Happy Friday to you all. I just have to leave you with 4 more photos that sum up the diversity we experienced in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia- so perfectly. 🙂 photo

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: How we traveled Malaysia on a budget…and still had an amazing time! | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

