“Home is whenever I am with you”

Standard

Almost 7 months ago (already) I boarded the plane with my husband at my side. To move across the world. Literally.

1010313_4783476357177_253506435_n

We said our goodbyes,and I sobbed the entire shuttle ride to the airport. I had my best friend with me and I was so excited to embark on a new adventure, but why was I so darn sad when it came time to say goodbye?

Saying goodbye to my sisters, and thinking how much I would miss out on their lives while we were gone hit home (they are 22, 9, and 7!)…and geez louise. Not to mention Tom’s family. Who had become like my own family long before I married Tom. I love them to pieces. I think it’ s because up until that point we had been so busy getting ready for the big move that I honestly didn’t have time to process, and dwell on how much I would miss them. It felt right in my heart, but why did my heart feel SO sad when it came time for goodbyes?

406284_3486920503935_1459712683_n (1)

I look back at the pictures when we first got to Korea (7 months ago) and I think about how much we have grown since that time.

029 066-e1365507523717

The morning we left for Korea my mom came into our hotel room, and gave me a much needed pep talk.

She said a lot of things to me with teary eyes, but basically it was this:

“You will always have a place to come back to.”

“Tom is where your home is now.”

and

” That we always can come back when we need help, advice, or a place to feel the love of your family.”

It’s like she just knew. She knew I needed to hear that. Moms are real good at that.  I wasn’t doubting the decision to move to Korea, but I just needed a little bit of reassurance that I hadn’t lost my marbles. Leaving comfort is hard, but man am I ever counting my blessings here. There’s too many to blessings to count. I know this though: I’ve never regretted traveling. It’s like each time I travel I am displaced from beneath the place I call comfort…and I LOVE it. I absolutely freaking love it.

417155_3870100083185_1250926914_n

If money wasn’t an issue. I’d travel the entire world. I can’t even pick my top 5 places. I’d make stops back in Wisconsin/Minnesota to squeeze my loved ones, kiss my baby sisters on their cheeks, drink wine with my sister in laws, laugh, hang out, catch up, and talk with everyone that I love.

photo

My home is wherever I am with Tom,but I will always have pieces of my heart in Wisconsin/Minnesota.

Where would you go if you could travel anywhere?

Surfing in Indonesia? African Safari? Killer Whale watching in South America? The Great Wall of China?

Watching the sunset in Fiji? Climbing in the Himalaya’s?

Fijian village dancers.

Fijian village dancers.

How do you pick when there are so many places to see? Things to do? Do you just close your eyes, and point your finger, and then spin the globe?

Dear traveling: You’re way cooler than sliced bread.

…and moms advice is usually right- just in case you haven’t figured that out yet  😉

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

5 responses »

  1. Leaving was the hardest part for me too. Saying goodbye to family, friends, and an abundance of stuff was heartbreaking. It sounds like you’ve made the right decision though and are very happy :). So nice to have someone in a similar situation who can relate to everythingggg I’ve experienced as well. I’ve shared your blog with friends of mine looking to teach abroad. I hope it will be the inspiration they need to move forward in the process!

  2. The world is such a big place and I think you can find a little slice of heaven in just about any country… but I really want to travel with you to southern Peru/Argentina to see Patagonia and Machu Picchu. Or, seeing Jerusalem and the middle east would be amazing. Also on the list, probably at the top, is to do the journey to Everest base camp and back! PS I am glad I took the plunge with you to Korea, it’s been the time of my life!

  3. Love this post. Every once in a while, we get pangs of homesickness as well. I remember when we posted about missing home and you commented with what your mom said and it gave us encouragement, too. We will never regret moving here, even though we miss our loved ones, though because we have grown together as a couple. Just wish we had more opportunities to hug our families once in a while!

    • Can’t we just move our families here???

      Life is amazing in Korea. We stay pretty connected with family via skype, facebook, and emailing, but it would be cool to just transplant them here!!!

Leave a Reply

