Being exactly where you are.

Standard

My best moments of “thinking” come in the shower.

I realized this last week…when I was running. When I work out I am always thinking about everything that I need to get done. I’m jealous of those of you who see working out as a time of stress relief. This is what happens in my head when I work out:

“OK, I need to wash the dishes when I get home, make cookies, and shower. What will I teach tomorrow? My kids better listen. Tomorrow is Tuesday… will we be going out for dinner? Where will Tom want to eat? What’s our plan for the weekend? How are my sisters doing. Gosh, they are getting big. Only 67 days until I see them and get to HUG them. Will they be taller than me? Man that’s a long plane ride home. I wonder what book I will want to read on the plane. This past weekend was incredible. Korea is gorgeous.” (looking at the ocean or the mountains) and then I let out a scream (after my second time of almost getting hit by a car.)

…but when I am in the shower. All is silent except for the rushing sound of the water going over my ears. It’s my time. It’s the time during the day where I get to reflect, pray, think. There is no music blaring, I am not talking, No kids screaming. It’s still. The steam fills our ridiculously tiny Korean bathroom, and it’s still silent.

When I am laying in bed at night-  I am thinking about the next day.

When I am working out- My mind gets lost in my task list.

First thing in the morning- my brain is sifting through things I need to remember for the day.

– I tend to worry a lot, and it’s the time in the shower I feel God saying to me “Just. Slow. Down.”

Be right where you are. Right now. Just breathe.

I want to be the girl who listens, and not just listens, but listens well. The girl who can push back the worry or all the thoughts consuming my brain space, and just LISTEN. I always take notice of the people who listen well. Who give me their undivided attention. Responding appropriately with valuable input. I remember the teachers who went the extra mile, the friends who make the effort, and the people who just simply listen with hearts ready to receive.

I want to be that for others.

I want to be right where I am. Right now. 120%

photo love

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

7 responses »

  1. This quote is just what I needed to hear:) I always feel like I’m thinking about what I have to do next and not always enjoying the moment I’m in. Being in the shower always makes me think about what I have to do next:) I love that everyone has their own source of quiet time. Thanks for following my blog! I’m excited to follow yours, too:) Hope you’re having a great day!

    • Hi Kari!

      Just left ya some love over on your site. I am jealous that you can find your “quiet” time while running. I hope I get there someday. I would love to workout, and just be able to tune everything else OUT!! 🙂

  2. Hi Cousin-
    Reading your blog has been so great! I’m proud of you and all of the adventures you’re going on. It’s a great thing you’re doing. So the reason I’m leaving this note is, I read this post and immediately thought of a photo set I saw on CNN recently. I remember looking at it for the first time and thinking, “gosh I never considered the shower such a special place”. It most certainly is for a lot of people 🙂

    Love you – Bri

    http://cnnphotos.blogs.cnn.com/2013/08/25/shower-confessionals/

    • Bri! Just read the article. SO COOL. I guess I am not the only crazy person out there who loves the “quiet time” in the shower.

      Come visit this side of the world. Let’s go surf Indonesia or hang with elephants in Thailand. Thanks for reading along I am glad you like it. I am loving writing!!!

      love,
      e

  3. Pingback: Confessions from a skinny girl.{Tell all Thursday} | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

