Confessions of a writer at heart.

Standard

It’s been a whirlwind of a week.

Just one of those weeks when it all comes apart at the seams. I am not talking earth shattering life changes (thank goodness and knock on wood.) Whatever it was that was going on this week I think it was time for it to happen. I have been sharing SO much about how much I adore Korea. While, I do. Life isn’t always perfect. Communication falls apart due to an ever present language barrier. Expectations go unspoken because “saving face” is a big deal here AND lastly…I swear there was a full moon this week because my 3rd and 4th graders were crazy while my 5th and 6th graders were in zombie mode.

Let’s just leave it at the fact that I am really freaking happy that Friday is here.AND. I get to see these amazing friends this weekend.

I have done a lot of thinking this week. It hit me that so many of us aren’t using the talents we have been given. We keep skills/talents dormant for no other reason besides fear. A few of you have reached out and told me that I am impacting your life in a positive way through my writing. Do you know how that makes me feel? It made me feel pure joy. It also brought tears to my eyes. Yep, I am getting sappy for a moment, but hear me out.

In 5th grade my teacher wrote on one of my papers “Elicia, you write exactly how you talk. I love that.” A simple sentence. At conferences she told my mom and I the same thing she had written. Growing up my parents told me that I should be a journalist because I could write (disclaimer- They are my parents so of course they may be bias.) The thought of going to school and having to deal with grammar and editing made me sick to my stomach. I felt like it would suck the life out my creativity. If you just started reading I should tell you: I hate editing. I hate grammar. You’ll probably find multiple mistakes in my writing…and that’s ok to me. I am not perfect. Maybe deep down I was afraid my writing wasn’t as good as the next person? I was always comparing. My college speech professor once told me my biggest flaw was that I was incredibly hard on myself. I guess it makes sense. I have never been afraid to be different, but I do think I was afraid at failing if I pursued writing.

I went to school for teaching so I could help kids/families/parents. Somewhere along the way I had forgotten how much I loved to write. Ask anyone that knows me and they will tell you that I am never afraid to say how I feel. It’s true. Sometimes a little too true. So I guess it makes sense that through blogging I am able to combine who I am with what I love. All while being an English teacher in Korea. When I am blogging I am combining the best and greatest of those dreams. I am being able to express how I feel or why I believe what I do. I get to share little pieces of my life with you. Most importantly I have gotten to help people. Helping people was my goal, but it’s different to get messages from real live humans who are telling you that you are impacting them in a positive way.

If someone has been inspiring you lately (a friend, family member, or even someone you have never even met) I encourage you to give them a little shout out. Cause people rock and sometimes all it takes is one person to say something to make a difference.

I am left wondering why more of us aren’t honing in on our talents and skills? Is it fear of failure? Have we forgotten to just get back to the basics?

-Happy weekend my friends.

May you find joy and spread it.

One of my favorite pictures of my 3 baby sisters and I. Pure JOY!

About Elicia Shepard

I'm unique just like you. I've learned every person has a story which makes us who we are. One minute I am here..then I am gone. Discovering unknown places and people is an addiction I am proud of and will be an endless journey of mine. Smiling is not a pastime it's what I do. I live for moments that take my breath away. Falling in love is the greatest feeling-and the biggest risk. I thrive off of risks.Challenges. Adrenaline rushes. Making others smile. Art is all around and in ourselves. I love taking an unknown path not knowing where it'll lead. Mystery is beautiful. Compassion, kindness, and love- things I will always strive for. Know what you believe in. Stand up for it. Never be afraid to feel. Time waits for no one.Ever. Children inspire me. God fires me. Happiness is being with those you love.I am really blessed. I think God is love and forgiveness and I think he wants us to be good people and love EVERYONE. Figure out who you are and what that means to you-It's one of the greatest gifts you can give yourself (and you deserve it.) Live frugally on surprise. Breathe. Be who you are. Be an outcast...If you wanna find me I will be where the wind blows...Wherever that may take me.

3 responses »

  1. I love reading your posts because it is from your heart. You tell it so honest, just like it is, which is so unique about you. Look forward to each and every post that you present… Helen Sabella

  2. Pingback: Confessions from a skinny girl.{Tell all Thursday} | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

